Skip to content

The Donors’ Council of the Crop Trust was established in 2005 and consists of public and private donors who have made a sizable contribution to the Crop Trust.

The Council acts as an innovative mechanism to bring government donors, foundations and private companies together in a genuine public-private partnership with shared interest in the Crop Trust. The Donors’ Council reports to the Executive Board.

For a nation to be a member of the Donors’ Council, it needs to contribute at least USD 25,000 in support of the Crop Trust. For non-governmental donors such as private corporations, contributions of more than USD 250,000 are required for representation on the Donors’ Council.

Meetings of the Donors’ Council are convened twice a year. The Donors’ Council appoints its chairperson who submits a summary report to the Executive Board.

Learn more about our supporters

The Donors' Council is currently chaired by the Republic of Korea. In 2021, Dr. Taek-Ryoun Kwon succeeded Ambassador Hans Hoogeveen as Chair of the Donors’ Council.

Current Donors’ Council Members are:

  • Australia (AusAID)
  • Brazil (EMBRAPA)
  • Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation/UN Foundation
  • Bundesverband Deutscher Pflanzenzuechter (BDP)
  • Canada (CIDA)
  • CGIAR Centres
  • CropLife International
  • Czech Republic
  • DG INTPA – European Commission
  • European Commission
  • DuPont/Pioneer Hi-Bred
  • Egypt (Ministry of Agriculture)
  • Ethiopia
  • Finland
  • Gates Foundation
  • Gatsby Charitable Foundation
  • Germany
  • Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
  • Gordon J. Hammersley Foundation
  • Grains Research and Development Corporation
  • India (Ministry of Agriculture)
  • International Seed Federation
  • Ireland (Irish Aid)
  • Italy (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
  • Lillian Goldman Charitable Trust
  • Netherlands (Ministry of Economic Affairs, Agriculture, and Innovation)
  • New Zealand (Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry)
  • Norway (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
  • Republic of Korea
  • Rockefeller Foundation
  • Slovak Republic
  • Spain
  • Sweden (Sida)
  • Switzerland (SDC)
  • Syngenta AG
  • Syngenta Foundation for Sustainable Agriculture
  • United Kingdom
  • United Nations Foundation
  • United States of America (USAID)
  • Japan
Scroll to top